EACS Award 2019

The EACS Award for Excellence in HIV Medicine will be awarded at the 17th European AIDS Conference in Basel on November 6, 2019. The purpose of this award is to recognise the achievements of a senior scientist who has greatly contributed to the field of HIV/AIDS and to the European AIDS Clinical Society in the last decades.


Award Committee


Prof. Nathan Clumeck, Belgium (Chair)

Prof. Bernard Hirschel, Switzerland

Prof. Jens D. Lundgren, Denmark

Prof. Jean-Michel Molina, France

Prof. Marie-Louise Newel, United Kingdom


Nomination requirements


Nominations of candidates for the EACS Award must be made by a member of EACS.


Required supporting documentation:

- A brief nominating letter endorsing the candidate addressed to the Chair of the Award Committee;

- The title of a seminal paper authored by the nominee.

Nominations should be submitted to the EACS Secretariat at info@eacsociety.org no later than September 1, 2019. Nominations received after this date will not be considered.


Selection procedure

The nominations will be reviewed by the EACS Award Committee consisting of five members who have received the Award at previous European AIDS Conferences. The Committee will forward the name of the selected laureate for endorsement to the EACS President. 


Past Awardees



Educational Programme

Training and educating the next generation of clinicians and researchers is an EACS core activity.

Read more

EACS Treatment Guidelines updated

The EACS Treatment Guidelines 9.0 and the app are available for free on

Apple Store and Google Play Store

Read more 

17th European AIDS Conference

November 6-9, 2019 Basel, Switzerland

Conference website